Encomiums were showered on the Honorable Minister of State, Petroleum Resources, Chief Timipre Sylva as he has been described as a champion in the quest for creativity and new ideas of doing things. The commendation was made by the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Petroleum Resources, Mr. Bitrus Bako Nabasu, mni, at the presentation and launch of 7 (seven) books written by a staff of the Ministry of Petroleum Resources, Mrs. Halima Usman, on Tuesday, 27th July 2021 at the Yar’Adua Centre, Abuja.

While extolling the virtues of the author of the books; Halima Usman, who currently serves in different capacities in the offices of the Honorable Minister and Permanent Secretary, Nabasu said the Nigerian Civil Service encourages talent hunt and creativity among public officers.

In his address at the event, the Deputy Governor of Gombe State, Manassah Daniel Jatau, who represented the State Governor, bemoaned the dearth of Publishers, a development he said discourages authors who lack the financial wherewithal from publishing their works. He implored the Federal Government to revitalize the Publishing Industry with the Federal Ministry of Education leading the initiative.

In her remarks, the Honorable Minister of Woman Affairs and Social Development, Mrs. Pauline Tallen, commended the author of the books for making Nigerian women proud. She reiterated that women cannot be separated from children while noting that the books that were unveiled are mainly carved for children in primary and secondary schools. The Minister stressed the need to encourage the author, adding that government will support her.

In her address, the author of the books, Halima Usman, thanked all that supported in ensuring the success of the launch and presentation of the books.

The 7 Books that were unveiled are: Fauziya Saves the Day, Mallam – Sidi, The Big Acquarium, Emeka the Farmer, Mr. Cockroach, Kola and Lola: The Frontline Workers and Against the Odds.

Dignitaries at the events were the Special Adviser on Media to the Honorable Minister of State for Petroleum Resources, Mallam Garba Deen Mohammad, who represented the Minister, Traditional Rulers, Directors of the Ministry of Petroleum Resources among others.